## MSURA ANNUAL MEETING

## MAY 2, 2023

## MSU University Club and ZOOM

The meeting was called to order by President Rick Vogt. He welcomed all, thanked those who contributed to making the meeting a success, introduced special guests, announced that the upcoming year would include several activities in celebration of MSURA's 75<sup>th</sup> year, and called for a moment of remembrance.

Thomas Glasmacher, Ph.D., FRIB Laboratory Director, was introduced by Rick Vogt. Dr. Glasmacher's time with MSU dates back to the early 1990s. As Laboratory Director since 2015, he shared the story of the development of the FRIB, its ongoing operations, and partnerships with people across the globe.

Angela Brown announced four scholarship recipients for the 2023-2024 academic year. Two attended the luncheon. The winners include: Andrew Constan (Lansing, MI); Ruben Morillo (Grand Rapids, MI); Ryan Priess (Ontonagon, MI); and Connor Woodcock (Eaton Rapids).

Roger Baldwin provided a status report on fundraising results for the Endowed Scholarship.

Roger Baldwin announced the slate for the board elections for 2023-2024. Jacqie Babcock was elected President; Rick Vogt was elected Vice President. Dave Brower and Kate Wight were reelected Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. Christina DeFouw was elected as Member at Large, and Mike Gardner was re-elected as Member at Large.

Jacqueline Babcock introduced the Volunteer of the Year recipient, Dave Brower. Dave has dedicated ten years toward being Treasurer of the MSU Retirees Association. That is not all he has done for MSURA: he has organized an annual outing at Jackson Stadium to see a Lansing Lugnuts' game; in past years he has played a major role with the MSURA fundraising golf outings; and most recently he organized a wine tasting event with Burgdorf Winery at Burcham Hills. Beyond MSURA, he has taken on various roles with other Lansing area organizations. Among them are: the YMCA of Greater Lansing; the University Club of MSU; Peoples Church; and Burcham Hills Retirement Center.

Two door prizes were awarded. Pam Badgero won an MSU themed quilt donated by the estate of Janet Munn, designed and begun by Janet, and completed by members of the Quilters Special Interest Group. Mike Rice won a gift basket donated by MSUFCU.

Rick concluded the meeting with congratulations to the leadership team for next year and wished everyone a good summer.

Submitted by Kate Wight

Secretary